Nama Choco For Heart’s Day

When I was younger, I’d read about the many different traditions of gift-giving around the world. One such tradition was how girls in Japan made homemade chocolate to gift to their lovers, friends, family, or crushes on February 14th. The chocolate present is an expression of love, but it can also be out of courtesy.

Then on March 14th, typically known as White Day, it’s the men’s turn to return the favor. Men give gifts back to the women from whom they received the homemade chocolate from. It’s expected that the gift the men choose should be three times over the value of the homemade chocolate. However, it is up to personal preference.

In light of these traditions, I decided to make homemade chocolate for my friends, coworkers, and of course, my lover. I’m sharing the recipe for the chocolate that I chose to make.

Nama Choco (Chocolate) is considered to be “legendary” among chocolates in Japan. It’s the creation of Japanese chocolatier, Royce’. The chocolate has a creamy texture and is made with the finest of ingredients. There is usually an addition of liqueur but I personally don’t drink, so I chose to omit that. Here’s my take on the traditional chocolate.

ROYCE’ NAMA CHOCO                           

100g (3.5 oz) bar of chocolate

3 Tbsp of heavy cream

1 tsp. unsalted butter

cocoa powder (for dusting)

  1. Break chocolate into small pieces in a pot; add heavy cream
  2. Melt chocolate and heavy cream in a double boiler over hot water
  3. Once chocolate is melted and smooth, remove from heat
  4. Add in butter and stir until combined
  5. Line a container with plastic wrap or you can use a chocolate mold
  6. Fill the container/mold with the melted chocolate
  7. Allow to cool and firm in the fridge for at least 2 hours
  8. After the chocolate has cooled, remove from container/mold
  9. Depending on what you used, cut the chocolate into squares
  10. Dust with cocoa powder
  11. You’re done!

img_3251

I packaged my chocolate into cute little treat boxes. I actually used two bars of chocolate: Milk Chocolate & Dark Chocolate. This is because some of my friends prefer a certain type over the other. In the end, using two bars of chocolate and doubling this recipe, I made about 60 pieces of chocolate.

img_3259
The finished box! I made a Final Fantasy themed decoration to go along with the chocolate as well.

img_3260

The texture is extremely smooth and the chocolate is very decadent and creamy. If you make these, please share below!

img_3263
He loved this!

 

 

img_3215

-I hope my lover returns my feelings on White Day!-

 

 

Leave a Reply

