Ramen, Please.

As an avid anime fan, I’m always jealous of the noodle dishes anime characters eat. From cup ramen, to fancy three course ramen, anime just makes everything look so DAMN GOOD.

a504f46a1d854d603cb4b6df6449f4da

Anyway, I had the chance to visit a newly established ramen shop in New Brunswick, NJ. Ramen Nagomi is a hidden gem that sits near the corner of a main street. Walking by, the exterior caught my eye and I immediately put it on my list of places to visit. During one of these wintery days, I visited the shop with some friends.

Before I get more into my experience, I just wanted to mention a great article by Lucky Peach on the different types of Ramen according to region in Japan. I enjoyed reading this article and thought it would be appropriate to share here.

Ramen Nagomi specializes in the Assari style of Ramen. Assari is a lighter, more refreshing type of ramen. At Ramen Nagomi, everything from the noodles, the broth, and components of the dishes are made in-house.

The ambiance of the shop is akin to a modern take on traditional Japanese elements. Overall, the atmosphere is very welcoming and warm. After being seated, I ordered some fried vegetable gyoza as an appetizer. Water was served to us from a carafe and in quaint glasses. Did I mention I love carafes?

IMG_3151

The gyoza was light and crispy. The vegetable edamame filling inside was flavorful. The dipping sauce also made a perfect accompaniment. Overall, I was very happy with this appetizer.

While enjoying the gyoza, I ordered Vegetarian Spicy Miso Ramen. The dish consists of a house vegetarian dashi, soy milk, awase miso tare, tofu, hanjuko tamago, kikurage, nori, and scallions.

For anyone that doesn’t understand what half those terms are:

  • Dashi- A word for stock or a soup basel it’s usually made from fish or kelp
  • Awase Miso Tare-Miso is a Japanese seasoning made by fermenting soybeans together with salt, rice, and other ingredients. Awase Miso is just a combination of two or more different types of miso blended together. Tare is also a type of seasoning and defines what type of ramen is being served.
  • Hanjuko Tamago-A ramen egg marinated in a soy sauce mix. It’s soft-boiled and oh, so, yummy.
  • Kikurage-A type of mushroom; known as a Wood Ear Mushroom in English
  • Nori-Edible seaweed

IMG_3167.JPG

Look at that glorious bowl. It was huge! I loved the presentation as well. The noodles were soft and chewy and absolutely delicious. What I loved most about this dish was the broth. I’ve never had soy milk broth before but it complimented the spices in the dish perfectly. I remember after I finished eating, I was so content. My stomach had this warm feeling of home. This is a ramen dish that you kind of fall in love with. I know I have.

Now if there’s something you should know about me, it’s that I love dessert. I can’t complete a meal without some aspect of dessert being incorporated at the end. Ramen Nagomi has a list of desserts to choose from. They have mochi, ice cream, and sorbet. However, the black sesame crème brûlée caught my eye. I’m a fan of crème brûlée, it’s rich, sweet, and just wonderful. I’d never had a black sesame one though, so I decided to order it.

IMG_3161

The crème brûlée was tiny and cute. It was topped with sesame seeds. Upon breaking the sugar crust, I was met with a dark grey custard. Even though the dessert was rich, it had just a lightness to it. The roasted flavor of black sesame was unexpectedly magical. Unfortunately, my friends and I had to attend something after we ate so I couldn’t order another one. But if we had stayed longer, I would have gotten about two more. It was just that good.

Overall, I loved my experience at Ramen Nagomi. And here’s to the first of many.

Leave a Reply

